Exhibitions

UNSUSTAINABLE: A PLANET IN CRISIS

Ewing Gallery of Art & Architecture / 1715 Volunteer Blvd. January 9 - February 19th

Michele Banks, Brandon Ballengee, Scott Chimileski, Brandon Donahue, Lorrie Fredette, Yeon Jin Kim, Pam Longobardi, Dan Mills, John Sabraw, Karen Shaw

Join us for an opening reception on Jan. 9 (5:00-7:30pm) celebrating Unsustainable - A Planet in Crisis. Unsustainable is a group exhibition featuring artwork ranging in material, discipline, and execution that addresses the theme of planetary crises - climate change, the rise of disease and superbugs, world conflict and national instability, plastics in the ocean, gun violence, pollution of the waterways from mining, air pollution from use of fossil fuels, the opioid crisis, and species extinction.


Participating artists with web links include:

Michele Banks: https://www.artologica.net/
Brandon Ballengee, PhD: https://brandonballengee.com/
Scott Chimileski, PhD + Roberto Kolter, PhD: https://www.quantamagazine.org/
Brandon Donahue: https://brandonjaquezdonahue.com/  
Lorrie Fredette: http://lorriefredette.com/
Yeon Jin Kim: http://www.domesticmuseology.com/yeon-jin-kim
Pam Longobardi: https://driftersproject.net/about/
Dan Mills: http://abacus.bates.edu/~dmills/
John Sabraw: http://www.johnsabraw.com/
Karen Shaw: https://karenshaw100.com/