

## **BEAUVAIS LYONS**

## Chancellor's Professor

## **Director of the Hokes Archives**

School of Art, 1715 Volunteer Boulevard University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37996 voice: 865-974-3202, fax: 865-974-3198

email: blyons@utk.edu, web.utk.edu/~blyons/

Beauvais Lyons is a Chancellor's Professor at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville where he has taught since 1985. As the Director of the Hokes Archives he is known for his mock-academic projects fabricating and documenting imaginary history, biography, archaeology, medicine and natural science. His one-person exhibitions that have been presented at over 60 galleries and museums across the United States and Europe. His work has also been represented in over 250 juried and invitational exhibitions. He has published articles on his work in *Archaeology, The Chronicle of Higher Education, Contemporary Impressions, Graphion, im:print, The New Art Examiner, The Art Journal* and *Leonardo*. His work is cited by Linda Hutcheon in *Irony's Edge: A Theory and Politics of Irony* (1994) and by Lawrence Weschler in *Mr. Wilson's Cabinet of Wonder* (1995).

His prints are in the collections of the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Smithsonian Museum of American Art, the Nelson-Atkins Museum, The Philadelphia Museum of Art, among others. He was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to Poland in the Fall of 2002 and in 2014 he receive the Santo Foundation Artist Award.

Lyons has been a regular panel chair and presenter at the College Art Association annual conferences, and served as the Chair of the CAA Service to Artists Committee (2004-2005). He was the President of the Southern Graphics Council International (1994-96), the largest printmaking organization in North America and as editor and designer of their journal (1998-2002). He has organized or co-organized conferences for the Southern Graphics Council in 1992, 1995, 2002 and 2015. In 2005 he coordinated the IMPACT 4 International Printmaking Conference held in Berlin, Germany and Poznan, Poland. Lyons also served as President of the UT Knoxville Faculty Senate (2003-2004).

He received his MFA from Arizona State University (1983) and his BFA from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1980).